Positive SSL
MODEL RAILWAY and ENGINEERING PRINTS 4U Home 1923 Grouping LMS Drawing Section S.R. PDF File

Southern Railway (S.R.) Constituent Companies

The London and South Western Railway (LSWR) route mileage 1020 miles (1642 km)

The London, Brighton and South Coast Railway (LBSCR) 457.25 miles (736 km)

The combined systems of the South Eastern Railway and the London, Chatham and Dover Railway, under the South Eastern and Chatham Railways' Managing Committee (SECR) 637.75 miles (1026 km). These concerns had formed a working union to operate their services under a Managing Committee on 1 January 1899.


Subsidiary companies; Independently operated lines

Bere Alston and Callington section of the Plymouth, Devonport and South Western Junction Railway 9.75 miles (16 km)

Freshwater, Yarmouth and Newport Railway 12 miles (19 km)

Isle of Wight Central Railway 28.5 miles (46 km)

Isle of Wight Railway 15.25 miles (24 km)


Non-working companies

Originally leased to or worked by LSWR Bridgewater Railway 7.25 miles (12 km)

Lee-on-the-Solent Railway 3 miles (5 km)

North Cornwall Railway 52.5 miles (84 km)

Plymouth and Dartmoor Railway (portion used by LSWR) 2.25 miles (4 km)

Plymouth, Devonport and South Western Junction Railway (except Bere Alston and Callington section as above) 19.5 miles (31 km)

Sidmouth Railway 8.25 miles (13 km)


Originally leased to or worked by LBSCR Brighton and Dyke Railway 4.75 miles (8 km)

Hayling Railway 5 miles (8 km)


Originally leased to or worked by SER or LCDR

Cranbrook and Paddock Wood Railway 11 miles 24 chains (18.19 km)

Crowhurst, Sidley and Bexhill Railway 4 miles 40 chains (7.24 km)

London and Greenwich Railway 3.75 miles (6 km)

Mid Kent Railway (Bromley to St Mary Cray) 2.5 miles (4 km)


Other railways

Lynton and Barnstaple Railway: not covered by the Railways Act 1921, but absorbed by the LSWR. Narrow gauge - 1 ft 11 1⁄2 in (597 mm) - 19.25 miles (31 km)

Several light railways, including the Basingstoke and Alton Light Railway, though other candidate lines remained independent, such as the Kent and East Sussex Railway

Victoria Station and Pimlico Railway (in which the Great Western Railway and the London and North Western Railway were also parties)


Joint companies

In 1923, now comprised wholly in the SR:

Croydon and Oxted Railway 12.5 miles (20 km (was SEandCR))

Dover and Deal Railway 8.5 miles (14 km) (was SEandCR)

Epsom and Leatherhead Railway 3.75 miles (6 km) (was LBSCR/LSWR joint)

Portsmouth and Ryde Railway (the ferry) 8.5 miles (14 km) (was LBSCR/LSWR joint)

Tooting, Merton and Wimbledon Railway 5.75 miles (9 km) (was SEandCR)

Woodside and South Croydon Railway 2.5 miles (4 km) (was LBSCR/ SEandCR joint)


In 1923, in association with other companies:


East London Railway 5 miles (8 km) (1/3 share with London and North Eastern Railway and Metropolitan Railway)

Easton and Church Hope Railway 3.5 miles (6 km) (jointly with Great Western Railway (GWR))

Somerset and Dorset Joint Railway 105 miles (168 km) (with London, Midland and Scottish Railway (LMSR))

West London Extension Railway 5.25 miles (8 km) (shares with GWR and LMSR)

Weymouth and Portland Railway 5.5 miles (9 km) (jointly with GWR)


S.R. Constituent Companies